Lillian Hochhauser receiving the awards for the Bolshoi. © John Ross

The Critics Circle

Winners 2010 National Dance Awards

Published: 24/01/2015

The Critics' Circle National Dance Awards took place at Sadler's Wells, London today, 24th January. Patron of the Awards, Dame Beryl Grey says: "I am delighted that the awards are now entering their second decade and have established an important, permanent and valuable place in the annual dance calendar. They set out to celebrate the richness and variety of dance work presented on stage each year, nurturing innovation and acknowledging excellence. I offer my congratulations to all those dancers and choreographers and companies who have been nominated for awards and now especially to the winners. Your creative energies and remarkable achievements have been justly recognized. Well done."

The winners follow - see the National Dance Awards Nominations page for details of all the dancers and companies that were nominated in the 2010 Awards.  We also have many more pictures in our 2010 Awards Gallery.


2010 Critics' Circle National Dance Awards Winners

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement

Jann Parry
Alistair Spalding


Alistair Spalding winner at the 2010 Dance Awards
Alistair Spalding © John Ross

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)

Martha Leebolt / Northern Ballet


Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)

Daniel Proietto / Russell Maliphant Company


Daniel Proietto, Russell Maliphant Company, Outstanding Male performance (Modern) Winner, 2010 National Dance Awards
Daniel Proietto/Russell Maliphant Company. © John Ross


Best Foreign Dance Company

The Bolshoi Ballet

Best Classical Choreography

Liam Scarlett for Asphodel Meadows by the Royal Ballet


Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)

Pieter Symonds / Rambert Dance Company


Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)

Vadim Muntagirov / English National Ballet


Best Modern Choreography

Russell Maliphant for Afterlight in The Spirit of Diaghilev programme at Sadler's Wells


Russell Maliphant - Best Modern Choreography winner 2010 Dance Awards
Russell Maliphant - Best Modern Choreography. ©John Ross


Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award

Gill Clarke MBE / Dance Artist


Best Female Dancer

Natalia Osipova / Bolshoi Ballet


Outstanding Company

Rambert Dance Company


The Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

Ivan Vasiliev / Bolshoi Ballet


2010 Awards - Critics Jeffery Taylor and Mike Dixon, past chairman of the Awards Committee, with supporter Yvonne Sherrington.
Critics Jeffery Taylor and Mike Dixon, past chairman of the Awards Committee, with supporter Yvonne Sherrington. © John Ross


The Awards celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain's thriving dance culture and highlight the huge range of dance on offer. They are the only professional awards in the UK dedicated to dance and are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics' Circle, which brings together more than 50 dance writers. As part of the awards' unique partnership with Sadler's Wells and the Royal Opera House, the ceremony alternates between the two venues.

The awards sponsors are: The Monument Trust, Dancing Times; and Dance UK in association with Gordon and Co for the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award.

To read about past Awards please visit:


Enquiries about the Critics' Circle should be made to the Hon Gen Sec Rick Jones by email or telephone 020 8698 2460.