Lillian Hochauser with the awards won by Osipova, Vasiliev and the Bolshoi Ballet.                         ©John Ross

The Critics Circle

The Winners of the Eleventh Critics' Circle National Dance Awards

Sadler's Wells, January 24, 2011

William Russell

Published: 02/02/2011

The Patron of the Awards, Dame Beryl Grey, who was unable to attend, sent a message saying she was delighted the Awards were entering their second decade. They had established an important, permanent, and valuable place in the annual dance calendar, and celebrated the richness and variety of dance work presented on stage each year, nurturing innovation and acknowledging excellence.


Mason Monica
The Royal Ballet's Dame Monica Mason announcing the winner of the best classical choreography award which went to third time lucky Royal Ballet choreographer, Liam Scarlett. © John Ross


"I offer  my congratulations to all those dancers, choreographers and companies who have been nominated and now especially to the winners," she said. "Your creative energies and remarkable achievements have been justly recognised. Well done."

The Winners

De Valois Awards for Outstanding Achievement

Jann Parry

Alistair Spalding



Alistair Spalding © John Ross


Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)

Martha Leebolt - Northern Ballet


Martha Leebolt
© John Ross


Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)

Daniel  Proietto – Russell Maliphant Company


Daniel Proietto © John Ross


Best Foreign Dance Company

The Bolshoi Ballet


Best Classical Choreography

Liam Scarlett for Asphodel Meadows by the Royal Ballet


Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)

Pieter Symonds – Rambert Dance Company


Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)

Vadim Muntagirov – English National Ballet


Best Modern Choreography

Russell Maliphant for Afterlight in The Spirit of Diaghilev programme at Sadler’s Wells



Russell Maliphant © John Ross


Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award

Gill Clarke MBE – Dance Artist


Best Female Dancer

Natalia Osipova – Bolshoi Ballet


Outstanding Company

Rambert Dance Company


The Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

Ivan Vasiliev – Bolshoi Ballet



The troika

Critics Jeffery Taylor and Mike Dixon, past chairman of the Awards, with supporter Yvonne Sherrington. © John Ross


For more information 

National Dance Awards Gallery


Enquiries about the Critics' Circle should be made to the Hon Gen Sec Rick Jones by email or telephone 020 8698 2460.