Stephen Mcrae

Stephen McRae in Rhapsody. Photo Tristram Kenton  © ROH

The Critics Circle

The 12th National Dance Awards


Published: 09/11/2011

The Awards, which cover performances given between 1 September 2010 and 31 August, 2011 will be presented on Monday 23 January, 2012, will be held at The Place.

 This year there is a new award for Best Independent Company, which replaces the one for the Best Foreign Dance Company. Graham Watts, chairman of the section, said that they felt there was no longer a need for this award. "The frequency of both incoming and outgoing tours and the increasing global nature of the dance community meant there was no longer a need to distinguish between home and overseas companies," he said. "Hence we now just have an award for the Outstanding Company over the last year. It is great in this first year to see that there are two home-based and two-overseas based companies up for the award. We also have four outstanding companies nominated the new award which is designed to recognise the work of smaller scale companies."


Outstanding Company

English National Ballet

Mariinsky Ballet

Richard Alston Dance Company

Royal New Zealand Ballet


Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

Jonathan Goddard (Rambert Dance Company)

Steven McRae (Royal Ballet)

Sergei Polunin (Royal Ballet)

Edward Watson (Royal Ballet)


Best Female Dancer

Lauren Cuthbertson (Royal Ballet)

Daria Klimentova (English National Ballet)

Marianela Nunez (Royal Ballet)

Tamara Rojo (Royal Ballet)



Tamara Rojo as Margurite. Photo Tristram Kenton © ROH


Best Classical Choreography

David Bintley (for Cinderella for the Birmingham Royal Ballet)

Kim Brandstrup (for Invitus Invitam for the Royal Ballet)

Andrew Simmons (for A Song in The Dark for the Royal New Zealand Ballet)


 Best Modern Choreography

 Javier De Frutos (for The Most Incredible Thing)

 Akram Khan (for Vertical Road)

 Hofesh Shechter (for Political Mother - The Choreographer's Cut)

 Luca Silvestrini (for Lol)


Outstanding Female Performance (Classical )

Melissa Hamilton (Royal Ballet)

Sophie Martin (Scottish Ballet)

Akane Takada (Royal Ballet)

Elisha Willis (Birmingham Royal Ballet)


 Akane TakadaAkane Takada in Live Fire Exercise. Phto Bill Cooper.© ROH


Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)

Yonah Acosta (English National Ballet)

Gary Avis (Royal Ballet)

Esteban Berlanga (English National Ballet)

Tobias Batley (Northern Ballet)


Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)

Sylvie Guillem (for 6000 Miles Away)

Sally Marie (Protein Dance)

Michela Meazza (Freelance Dancer)

Angela Towler (Rambert Dance Company)


Outstanding Male Performance (Modern) 

Sidi Larby Cherkaoui (for Dunas)

Sean Palmer (for Crazy for You)

Alexander Whitley (Wayne Mcgregor l Random Dance)


Best Independent Company

Ballet Boys - The Talent

Rosemary Butcher Dance Company

Protein Dance

Tilted Production - Marea Von Stockert


The De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement will be announced on 23 January 2012.












Enquiries about the Critics' Circle should be made to the Hon Gen Sec Rick Jones by email or telephone 020 8698 2460.