Photo - David Makhateli

Yevgeny Ivanchenko and Alina Somova of the Mariinsky Ballet performing 'Swan Lake' (photo: David Makhateli)

The Critics Circle

Introducing the NDA Nominees for 2011

The John Doyle Construction Award for Outstanding Company

Debra Craine and Graham Watts

Published: 22/01/2012

The John Doyle Construction Award for Outstanding Company

English National Ballet

The company, formerly known as London Festival Ballet, was founded in 1950 by Alicia Markova and Anton Dolin and has continued to honour their dream of bringing ballet to the widest possible audience in the UK. The company has been singled out in these awards for its Roland Petit programme at the London Coliseum in July 2011, which comprised performances of Carmen, Le Jeune Homme et la mort and L’Arlesienne.

Mariinsky Ballet

The company, formerly known as the Kirov, is based at the Mariinsky Theatre in St Petersburg and has roots that date back more than 220 years and a historic repertoire that boasts the iconic 19th-century stagings of Swan Lake and The Sleeping Beauty. The company have been regular visitors to London since the 1980s and are nominated this year for their season at the Royal Opera House, which included performances of Swan Lake, Don Quixote, Anna Karenina and La Bayadere.

Richard Alston Dance Company

Founded in 1994 and based at The Place in London, the Richard Alston Dance Company is one of Britain’s leading contemporary dance troupes. Although the company, which tours frequently, occasionally performs pieces by other choreographers, it is primarily a showcase for Alston’s work and is celebrated for its musical sensitivity.

Royal New Zealand Ballet

The company, which grew out of an Auckland-based troupe founded in the 1950s by Poul Gnatt, has in recent years taken an increasingly international approach to its repertoire building. It has been nominated for its season at the Barbican in July 2011, which featured work by Javier De Frutos, Andrew Simmons and Jorma Elo. RNZB recently appointed the American dancer Ethan Stiefel as artistic director.



Enquiries about the Critics' Circle should be made to the Hon Gen Sec Rick Jones by email or telephone 020 8698 2460.