Chair: Anna Smith
Vice Chair: Rich Cline
Secretary: Karen Krizanovich

New members are considered for the film section each year from January to May. For information, visit the Membership Information page.

The Critics’ Code: A Pledge for Pay

For information or queries about the film section, email:

News & Reviews

Horror-Night in Seville

The Grotesque Popcorn Marathon continues to be a popular fixture on the penultimate night of the Seville European Film Festival "Ex-hu-mac-ion! Ex-hu-mac-ion! Ex-hu-mac-ion!" The Spanish audience in Seville's Teatro de la Alameda picks up the four-syllable word and it...

read more

X Marks the Spot in Xixón

Neil Young reports from the Gijón International Film Festival in Spain Gijón is a city of cinema, haunted by the ghosts of cinemas past. In 1963, when it first hosted the event now known as the Festival Internacional de Cine de Gijón (FICX for short)—for two decades a...

read more

Film Section welcomes new members

The UK Critics’ Circle Film Section is thrilled to announce four new members for 2019/20. Film Section Chair Anna Smith calls them “accomplished professional critics”. They are: James Dyer is the Digital Editor-in-Chief of Empire magazine and the Deputy Editor of...

read more