Carlos Acosta accepting the De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement. © John Ross

The Awards, hosted by Arlene Phillips, were held at The Place on 26 January. The Outstanding Company of 2014 was English National Ballet and the award was accepted by the company’s artstic director and principal ballerina, Tamara Rojo. The De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement presented by Darcey Bussell was given to Carlos Acosta in recognition of his outstanding career as a dancer and as a producer of new work. The Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award was presented to Frank Doran MP, Secretary of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Dance, in recognition of his work for the dance industry. Mr Doran, MP for Aberdeen North, is standing down at the General Election.

The winners

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern).

Jonathan Goddard in the title role as Dracula for the Mark Bruce Company.

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical).

Natalia Osipova in the title role in Giselle for The Royal Ballet.

Best Modern Choreography.

Akram Khan for Dust by English National Ballet.

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical).

Xander Parish in the title role in Apollo for the Mariinsky Ballet.


The winners with Dance section chair Graham Watts on the right. ©  John Ross.

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern).

Wendy Houstoun for Pact with Pointlessness.

Grishko Award for Emerging Artist.

Francesca Hayward.

Best Independent Company.

Mark Bruce Company.

Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award.

Frank Doran MP.

Stef Stefanou Award for Outstanding Company.

English National Ballet.

Best Classical Choreography

Christopher Wheeldon for The Winter’s Tale for the Royal Ballet.

Grishko Award for Best Female Dancer.

Natalia Osipova.

The Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

Jonathan Goddard

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement.

Carlos Acosta.