Actors Jing Lusi and Ényì Okoronkwo will announce the nominations on Wednesday 20th December at The May Fair Hotel, ahead of the critics’ 44th awards ceremony on Sunday 4th February. Meanwhile, members are voting in new categories for Animated Film and Breakthrough Performance.

Up-and-coming actors Jing Lusi and Ényì Okoronkwo will announce the nominations for the 44th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards on 20th December at the May Fair Hotel. Critics are currently casting their ballots in the first round.

Jing Lusi garnered international attention for her breakout role in the 2018 hit comedy Crazy Rich Asians, as well as this year in the Netflix film Heart of Stone alongside Gal Gadot and Jamie Dornan. She also starred in the Netflix comedy series Man vs Bee opposite Rowan Atkinson and the British crime drama Gangs of London for Sky,. Up next, she will star in Matthew Vaughn’s spy-drama film Argylle alongside Henry Cavill, Bryce Dallas Howard and Sam Rockwell. She also has the lead role opposite Richard Armitage in the forthcoming ITVX thriller Red Eye, a six-part series set on a night flight from London to Beijing.

Established across stage and screen, Ényì Okoronkwo starred as Laurence opposite Paapa Essiedu in The Lazarus Project for Sky, played Puck in Sacha Bennett’s 2022 feature adaptation of A Midsummer Night’s Dream and appeared in the BBC drama Girl/Haji. Among his many stage roles, he starred opposite Mark Rylance in Dr Semmelweiss and was praised for his performance in the true slave-era drama The Meaning of Zong at the Barbican Theatre earlier this year. This spring, he will be seen in Sally Wainwright’s Renegade Nell on Disney+, alongside Louisa Harland, Adrian Lester and Joely Richardson.

In this year’s awards, critics are voting in two new categories: Animated Film and Breakthrough Performance. Since the first edition in 1980, the star-studded Critics’ Circle Film Awards have become an anticipated and respected event in the annual film calendar. In recent years special guests have included Olivia Colman, Timothée Chalamet, Paul Mescal, Carey Mulligan, Hugh Grant, Isabelle Huppert, Michael Fassbender, Emma Thompson, Christoph Waltz and Pedro Almodóvar.

At the glittering 43rd ceremony in February, Michelle Yeoh was presented the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Cinema, and winners in attendance included Cate Blanchett, Florence Pugh, Bill Nighy, Todd Field, Martin McDonagh, Frankie Corio and filmmaker Keeran Anwar Blessie, plus Ke Huy Quan, Danny Boyle, Gregory Mann and Tom Burke. The critics named Tár as Film of the Year

Rich Cline, chair of the Critics’ Circle Film Section, commented: “Because our members watch nearly all of the films released in Britain every year, our nominations tend to look unlike all the other awards shows. The Critics’ Circle Film Awards is an integral part of the annual cinema awards-season conversation and has consistently highlighted film achievements that may be overlooked by other groups. I am also delighted that The May Fair Hotel is partnering with us for a 12th year.”

The 44th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards nominations and winners are chosen by the 210-member Film Section of the Critics’ Circle, the UK’s longest-standing and most prestigious critics’ organisation. Films are automatically eligible if they are released in cinemas or on premiere streaming serviced between mid-February 2023 and mid-February 2024. The May Fair Hotel, part of Edwardian Hotels London, is the main sponsor of the event, alongside non-alcoholic sparkling wine Wild Idol, cocktail specialists Gattertop, Guisborough Brewery, Reddit, MetFilm, Cinemadix, print solutions experts MTA Digital and creative industry accountants Nyman Libson Paul LLP.