The awards for 2017 were presented at the Prince of Wales Theatre in London on Tuesday 30 January 2018.
The winners were:

The Most Promising Newcomer – Shella Atim for Girl from the North Country (The Old Vic & Noel Coward Theatres, London) & John McCrea for Everybody’s Talking about Jamie (Sheffield Crucible & Apollo Theatre, London).

The Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance – Andrew Scott in Hamlet (Almeida & Harold Pinter Theatres, London)

Most Promising Playwright – Brandon Jacob-Jenkins for An Octoroon (Orange Tree Theatre ) & Gloria (Hampstead Theatre).

The Peter Hepple Award for Best MusicalHamilton (Victoria Palace Theatre, London)

Best Designer – Vicki Mortimer for Follies (National Theatre, London)

Best Director – Dominic Cooke for Follies (National Theatre, London)

Best Actress – Victoria Hamilton for Albion (Almeida Theatre, London)

Best Actor – Bryan Cranston for Network (National Theatre, London).

Best New Play – The Ferryman by Jez Butterworth (Royal Court & Gielgud Theatres, London)

Special Award for services to the theatre – David Lan