The Drama Section held its Theatre Awards on 17 April this year, celebrating the best of theatre from productions opening in the year 2022.

Our results testified to the growing visibility of actors in British theatre of every physicality, with two awards won by disabled actors (Lizzie Annis for The Glass Menagerie and Arthur Hughes for Richard III.) We also launched our first Empty Space Peter Brook Award, to honour the theatre auteur Peter Book following his death in 2022. We are grateful to Blanche Marvin, who ran the Empty Space Peter Brook Award for nearly 30 years until retiring in 2017, for allowing us to revive her award in this Critics’ Circle partnership. Our award recognises a venue which embodies the spirit of Peter Brook, both in its use of space and in its relationship to its locality. It was won this year by New Diorama.

Our full list of winners can be found at the Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards website

Winners of The 32nd Critics’ Circle including, Peter Morgan, Tyrell Williams, Griselda Yorke, Tom Pye, Lizzie Annis, Giles Terera, Lynette Linton, Patrick Vail, Nisha Modhwadia with Kate Maltby and Nica Burns at 32nd Annual Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards at @SohoPlace, London on 17 April, 2023