Critics’ Circle Film Awards

The Film Section presents its awards early in the year, as a key part of the international film awards calendar.

Nominations for the 45th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards will be announced on Thursday, 19th December 2024, and the awards ceremony will be held on Sunday, 2nd February 2025.


1991 Dirk Bogarde
1992 Freddie Young
1993 Christopher Lee
1994 Richard Attenborough
1995 Wendy Hiller
1996 John Mills
1997 Michael Caine
1998 John Hurt
1998 Albert Finney
1999 Mike Leigh
2000 Richard Harris
2001 Charlotte Rampling
2002 Lewis Gilbert
2003 Tom Courtenay
2004 Ken Loach
2005 Bryan Forbes
2006 Leslie Phillips
2007 Julie Walters
2008 Judi Dench
2009 Quentin Tarantino
2010 Kristin Scott Thomas
2011 Nicolas Roeg
2012 Helena Bonham Carter
2013 Gary Oldman
2014 Miranda Richardson
2015 Kenneth Branagh
2016 Isabelle Huppert
2017 Kate Winslet
2018 Pedro Almodovar
2019 Sally Potter
2019 Sandy Powell
2022 Michelle Yeoh
2023 Jeffrey Wright

2023 Colman Domingo

1980 Peter Sellers
1982 Contribution to British cinema: David Puttnam
1983 Artificial Eye
1985 Palace Pictures
1986 Lillian Gish
1987 Pinewood Studios
1988 Museum of the Moving Image (Leslie Hardcastle and David Francis)
1988 Leslie Halliwell
1988 Dilys Powell
1989 Artificial Eye
1989 Charles Crichton
1989 Alec Guinness
1990 Simon Ralph
1990 Penelope Houston (Sight and Sound)
1991 Contribution to American independent cinema: John Sayles
1992 Cinematography: Freddie Francis
1994 Barry Norman
1995 John Gielgud
1995 Peter Rogers (the Carry On films)
1996 Services to comedy: Norman Wisdon
1996 Life achievement: Jack Cardiff
1997 Woody Allen
1997 Life achievement: Paul Scofield and Martin Scorsese
1998 Life achievement: John Box and John Boorman
2001 Eon Productions (40 years of James Bond)
2004 25th Anniversary Award: Norma Heyman
2009 30th Anniversary Award: Francis Ford Coppola (Apocalypse Now)
2019 40th Anniversary Award: Aardman


1980 Apocalypse Now (Francis Ford Coppola)
1981 Chariots of Fire (Hugh Hudson)
1982 Missing (Costa-Gavras)
1983 The King of Comedy (Martin Scorsese)
1984 Paris, Texas (Wim Wenders)
1985 The Purple Rose of Cairo (Woody Allen)
1986 A Room With a View (James Ivory)
1987 Hope and Glory (John Boorman)
1988 House of Games (David Mamet)
1989 Distant Voices, Still Lives (Terence Davies)
1990 Crimes and Misdemeanors (Woody Allen)
1991 Thelma and Louise (Ridley Scott)
1992 Unforgiven (Clint Eastwood)
1993 The Piano (Jane Campion)
1994 Schindler’s List (Steven Spielberg)
1995 Babe (Chris Noonan)
1996 Fargo (Joel Coen)
1997 L.A. Confidential (Curtis Hanson)
1998 Saving Private Ryan (Steven Spielberg)
1999 American Beauty (Sam Mendes)
2000 Being John Malkovich (Spike Jonze)
2001 Moulin Rouge! (Baz Luhrmann)
2002 About Schmidt (Alexander Payne)
2003 Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (Peter Weir)
2004 Sideways (Alexander Payne)
2005 Brokeback Mountain (Ang Lee)
2006 United 93 (Paul Greengrass)
2007 No Country For Old Men (Joel and Ethan Cohen)
2008 The Wrestler (Darren Aronofsky)
2009 A Prophet (Jacques Audiard)
2010 The Social Network (David Fincher)
2011 The Artist (Michel Hazanavicius)
2012 Amour (Michael Haneke)
2013 12 Years a Slave (Steve McQueen)
2014 Boyhood (Richard Linklater)
2015 Mad Max: Fury Road (George Miller)
2016 La La Land (Damien Chazelle)
2017 Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri (Martin McDonagh)
2018 Roma (Alfonso Cuaron)
2019 Parasite (Bong Joon Ho)
2020 Nomadland (Chloe Zhao)
2021 The Power of the Dog (Jane Campion)
2022 Tár (Todd Field)
2023 The Zone of Interest (Jonathan Glazer)