Critics' Circle Film Awards Chair Rich Cline, Alice Lowe, Steve Oram and Critics' Circle President Anna Smith at the ceremony in 2017. Oram and Lowe hosted the Critics' Circle Film Awards in 2015 and 2017. Previously, they won the award for British Breakthrough Filmmakers in 2012 for their screenplay for Sightseers. (Photo by David M. Benett)


Britain’s leading film critics today announced that filmmakers Alice Lowe and Steve Oram will return as hosts of the 38th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards, which will take place on Sunday 28 January 2018 at The May Fair Hotel. The event is expected to attract a host of stellar British and international film talent. The awards are presented by the 145-member Film Section of The Critics’ Circle, the UK’s longest-standing and most prestigious critical organisation.

“It’s great to be back as hosts again,” says Oram. “It’s always a fun and friendly night, and a brilliant celebration of film. Can’t wait!” This past year, Oram appeared in the British films A Dark Song and Brakes, and is now in production on Deadfolk, his second project as director. Lowe appeared this year in acclaimed British drama The Ghoul and released her directing debut Prevenge.

Returning sponsor Sacred Gin will offer its special cocktails at the after party. Guests can also enjoy Rémy Grand Tonics, created by Rémy Martin, which is also the exclusive supplier to the Cannes Film Festival. Voss will provide water to keep everyone well hydrated. And talent agencies Millbank and Cooper Searle are sponsoring the event as well as bringing a collection of rising stars to the red carpet.

Since the first edition in 1980, the Critics’ Circle Film Awards have become an anticipated and respected fixture in the annual film calendar. In recent years attending winners have included Daniel Craig, Cate Blanchett, Michael Fassbender, Kate Winslet, Maisie Williams, Martin Scorsese, Marion Cotillard, Carey Mulligan, Quentin Tarantino, Emma Thompson, Timothy Spall, Christoph Waltz and Steve McQueen.

The 2017 ceremony attracted a star-studded red carpet with guests including Naomie Harris, Kate Beckinsale, Ken Loach, Tom Bennett, Lewis MacDougall, Dave Johns, Hayley Squires, Sennia Nanua, John Carney and Ferdia Walsh-Peelo. The iconic actress Isabelle Huppert was presented with the Dilys Powell Award for excellence in cinema. La La Land was named Film of the Year, while British winners included Love & Friendship, Under the Shadow and I, Daniel Blake.

Rich Cline, chair of the Critics’ Circle Film Awards, comments: “Our awards stand out from the crowd because they are chosen by people who watch all of the films released in Britain every year. The ceremony is an integral part of the annual awards-season conversation and has consistently highlighted film achievements that may be overlooked by other groups. I am also delighted that we’re returning to the intimate, five-star glamour of The May Fair Hotel for a sixth year. The team there has been integral to our event, and we look forward to working with them to put on another great evening.”

Inderneel Singh, The May Fair Hotel’s Managing Director, says: “We’re excited to welcome back our friends from the Critics’ Circle Film Awards for the sixth year running. The Critics’ Circle Film Awards kick off the awards season and are often seen as a notable precursor to the other major awards that follow. They are the perfect match for the dynamic style of The May Fair Hotel and we can’t wait to welcome the best of the worldwide film industry’s talent to the hotel in January.”

Films are eligible for the 38th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards if they are released in UK cinemas between 10 February 2017 and 16 February 2018 and screened for the press.


About The Critics’ Circle:
Established in 1913, The Critics’ Circle is the oldest organisation of its kind in the world, with more than 400 members who work in the UK media as critics of drama, art and architecture, music, film and dance. Chaired by Anna Smith, who also currently serves as the Circle’s President, the Film Section membership is made up of more than 145 UK film critics, broadcasters and writers, including Guardian critic Peter Bradshaw, the BBC’s Mark Kermode and Metro’s Larushka Ivan-Zadeh, and has presented its awards annually since 1980.

About The May Fair Hotel:
The luxury May Fair Hotel, opened by King George V in 1927 and owned and operated by Edwardian Group London, is located in the heart of London and boasts over 400 luxury bedrooms, including 40 of the capital’s most memorable signature suites. The residence encapsulates its Mayfair locality throughout, with the meat and seafood restaurant, May Fair Kitchen; The May Fair Bar; the May Fair Terrace and the relaxing May Fair Spa. The May Fair Hotel has an established partnership as the official hotel partner for both London Fashion Week and the BFI London Film Festival.

About the 38th London Critics’ Circle Film Awards:
Britain’s top film critics vote annually for the Critics’ Circle Film Awards. This year, nominations ballots are due on 15th December, with the nominees announced on Tuesday 19th December. Final-round votes will be due on 9th January. In addition to the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film and citations for Technical Achievement, the members of the The Critics’ Circle Film Section will vote in the following categories:
• Film of the Year
• Foreign Language Film of the Year
• Documentary of the Year
• Director of the Year
• Actor of the Year
• Actress of the Year
• Supporting Actor of the Year
• Supporting Actress of the Year
• Screenwriter of the Year
• The Attenborough Award: British/Irish Film of the Year
• The Philip French Award: Breakthrough British/Irish Filmmaker
• British/Irish Actor of the Year
• British/Irish Actress of the Year
• Young British/Irish Performer of the Year
• British/Irish Short Film of the Year