The nominations for the 2023 National Dance Awards are announced

The Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle is pleased to announce the short-listed nominations for the National Dance Awards (#NDA24)

The qualifying period for performances was between 1st January and 31st December 2023.  

The short-listed nominees are taken from nominations made by the members of the Dance section of the Critics’ Circle.

In total there were 311 companies, choreographers, performers and other creative artists nominated, from which the short-listed nominees are:

Best Male Dancer: William Bracewell – Paris Fitzpatrick – Francesco Gabriele Frola – Brandon Lawrence – Vadim Muntagirov 

Best Female Dancer: Sara Baras – Jemima Brown – Fumi Kaneko – Tiler Peck – Aishwarya Raut 

Outstanding Company:  Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater – Birmingham Royal Ballet – Nederlands Dans Theater – New Adventures – The Royal Ballet 

Best Midscale Company: Acosta Danza – Ballet Black – Ockham’s Razor – Scottish Dance Theatre  – ZooNation: The Kate Prince Company

Best Independent Company: Drew McOnie Company – Pett I Clausen-Knight – Russell Maliphant Dance Company – Seeta Patel Dance – Tiler Peck and Friends 

Best Classical Choreography: Sara Baras for Alma in the Flamenco Festival – David Dawson for Four Last Songs by English National Ballet – William Forsythe for The Barre Project by Tiler Peck and Friends – Wayne McGregor for Untitled, 2023 by The Royal Ballet  – Seeta Patel for The Rite of Spring by Seeta Patel Dance

Best Modern Choreography: Kyle Abraham for Are you in Your Feelings? by Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater – Drew McOnie for Nutcracker by the Drew McOnie Company – Kristen McNally for The Limit at The Royal Opera House – Crystal Pite/Simon McBurney for Figures in Extinction (1.0) by Nederlands Dans Theater – Pam Tanowitz for Song of Songs by Pam Tanowitz Dance

Outstanding Male Classical Performance:  Gareth Haw in Four Last Songs by English National Ballet – Ryoichi Hirano as Espada in Don Quixote by The Royal Ballet –  Brandon Lawrence in Liebestod by Birmingham Royal Ballet – Sooraj Subramaniam in The Rite of Spring by Seeta Patel Dance – Joseph Taylor as Gatsby in The Great Gatsby by Northern Ballet 

Outstanding Female Classical Performance: Sara Baras for Alma in the Flamenco Festival – Isabela Coracy as Nina Simone in Nina, By Whatever Means by Ballet Black – Mercedes de Cordoba for Si, Quiero in the Flamenco Festival – Fumi Kaneko as Princess Aurora in The Sleeping Beauty by The Royal Ballet – Tiler Peck for Turn it Out by Tiler Peck and Friends 

Outstanding Male Modern Performance:  Harry Alexander in how did we get here? by Julie Cunningham & Company – Paris Fitzpatrick as Romeo in Romeo + Juliet by New Adventures – Yannick Lebrun in Dancing Spirit by Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater – Liam Mower as Edward Scissorhands by New Adventures – Charlie Stemp as Bobby Child in Crazy For You 

Outstanding Female Modern Performance: Cordelia Braithwaite as Juliet in Romeo + Juliet by New Adventures – Jemima Brown in Surge by Tom Dale Company – Aditi Mangaldas in Forbidden by Aditi Mangaldas Dance Company – Dada Masilo as the Chosen One in The Sacrifice for Dance Consortium – Constance Stamatiou in Cry for Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater 

Emerging Artist: Nicole-Lily Baisden, musical theatre artist – Jordan James Bridge, dancer and choreographer – Eric Pinto Cata, artist at Birmingham Royal Ballet – Joshua Junker, choreographer – Sae Maeda, soloist at The Royal Ballet

Outstanding Creative Contribution: Carlos Acosta for the concept of Black Sabbath – The Ballet – Cormac Begley, musician/concertina player in MAM by Teac Damsa – Ravi Deepres, visual artist for UniVerse: A Dark Crystal Odyssey for Studio Wayne McGregor – Cassie Kinoshi – composer Nutcracker for Drew McOnie Company and England on Fire for the Balletboyz – Kate Shipway, pianist for her work at The Royal Ballet.

There are also awards for Best Dance Film and Best Short Dance Film and the nominees in these categories will be announced at the beginning of May.  

The winners will be announced at a live lunchtime ceremony to be held at The Coronet Theatre on Monday, 3rd June.   The Critics’ Circle is grateful to Anda Winters and the team at Coronet Theatre for their unstinting support.  

The event will also play host to the De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement for which there are no prior nominations.    

Although there was a wide spread of nominations covering a record 29 separate companies (+1 from 2022), The Royal Ballet once again tops the list with a total of 11 nominations, followed by Birmingham Royal Ballet and New Adventures (5 each) and Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, the Flamenco Festival and Tiler Peck and Friends (4 each).    

Announcing the nominations, the Chair of the National Dance Awards, Graham Watts OBE, said: “This is the best year yet for the diversity of nominations across the dance sector with a rich list from flamenco, south Asian dance, dance and musical theatre as well as the usual plethora of nominees from ballet and contemporary dance; all spread over a record number of companies.”    

The National Dance Awards have been organised by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle in each year of this Millennium to celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain’s thriving dance culture. They are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle, which brings together over 60 dance writers and critics.   They are the only awards given by the body of professional dance critics in the UK.    

The National Dance Awards will be sponsored this year by Marquee TV, Harlequin Floors, Stef Stefanou, International Arts and Cultural Projects Ltd, Tendu, the Ballet Association, London Ballet Circle, The L&M Trust, Lee McLernon, Danza&Danza International, Celeste Fenichel, Fern Potter and others to be announced.  

The Awards Committee wishes to express grateful thanks to our sponsors, without whom the event would not be possible; to the body of dance critics across the UK for giving their time to ensure the best possible list of nominees; and, above all, the companies, choreographers and performers for providing such a rich variety of choice.   

To discuss opportunities to sponsor the National Dance Awards contact the Chairman, Graham Watts on or +44 (0) 7710 057252.     

For further information contact:  
Graham Watts – Chairman – +44 (0) 7710 057252 –;
Fabiana Jaramillo – Executive Secretary –
Deborah Weiss – Secretary –  

Note:  The National Dance Awards Committee is:  Debra Craine (Deputy Chair), Sarah Crompton, Maggie Foyer, Lynette Halewood, Donald Hutera, Josephine Leask, Bruce Marriott, Emily May, David Mead, Graham Watts OBE (Chair), Deborah Weiss (Secretary) and Lyndsey Winship  

twitter: @NatDanceAwards
Instagram: @national_dance_awards
Facebook: National Dance Awards