The Critics’ Circle

Protecting and promoting cultural criticism since 1913

The Critics’ Circle believes impartial, professional criticism of the arts is an essential ingredient of a healthy society. The Circle today has 503 members shared between Theatre (117), Music (91), Film (151), Dance (57), Visual Arts (47) and Books (40). Admission to the Circle is by invitation from the Council.

Each year since 1988, the Circle has presented the Rosebowl for Distinguished Service to the Arts to an artist of conspicuous achievement. In 2019 the members voted for David Hockney and in 2020 for Dame Janet Baker.

The sections make their own awards in ceremonies which are significant social occasions, and hold periodic meetings and lunches to discuss their awards, propose new members, debate current issues and meet artists.

President: Suzi Feay
Vice-President: Robert Thicknesse
Hon. General Secretary: Rick Jones
Hon. Treasurer: Peter Cargin
Trustees: Ian Herbert, Michael Billington, Peter Cargin

News & reviews

IATC 60th Anniversary Congress, Belgrade 2016

Mark Brown and Natasha Tripney Mark Brown who writes in the Sunday Herald and Natasha Tripney of The Stage reported that the International Association of Theatre Critics congress in Belgrade was held during the famous Belgrade International Theatre festival and that...

read more

Così fan tutte, Royal Opera House

Overworked Jessica Duchen The music of Così is so sublime it’s a difficult show to ruin. However often a production flies in scenery during the most beautiful passages – I could have lived without the brightly-lit cinema frame descending from the heavens in the middle...

read more

Macbeth, Millennium Centre Cardiff

Darkness rising Lucien Jenkins A plot in which an acclaimed military leader assassinates a head of state, seizes power and loses both moral compass and marbles has “contemporary relevance” written all over it. Similarly, the Act 4 chorus of refugees powerfully singing...

read more