Carey Mulligan in red, white and blue on the red carpet at the film awards.

Pictures from our 2011 Film, Dance and Drama Awards presented in January 2012

William Russell

The Gallery opens with a selection of pictures from the first of our January awards, the Critics’ Circle Film Awards held at the BFI Southbank on January 19, 2012. They include recipients and those who presented them as this is part of our archive. Pictures from the Circle’s National Dance Awards, held at The Place on January 23 follow, and then come pictures from the Circle’s Theatre Awards held at the Prince of Wales Theatre on January 24.


Roeg Males: Luc Roeg, producer of We Need to Talk About Kevin, and his father, Nicolas Roeg, winner of the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film.


Roeg and Sutherland

Donald Sutherland bestows his congratulations on Nicolas Roeg after presenting him with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film



Sutherland in full flow

Jean Dujardin receives the Best Actor Award for his performance in The Artist from critic Nick James.


Lynne Ramsay

Lynne Ramsay, director of We Need to Talk About Kevin, and producer Luc Roeg go up to receive the Attenborough Award for Best British Picture


Negar Eskandarfar, executive producer of A Separation, Foreign Film of the Year, collecting the award


Film section chairman Jason Solomons with Olivia Colman, winner of the Best British Actress Award


Rich Cline, Film section Secretary, presenting the Technical Achievement Award  for production design on Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy to Maria Djurkovic


Michael Fassbender, winner of the Best British Actor Award for Shame and A Dangerous Method


Paulene Macleod

Critic Pauline Macleod with Michael Hazanavicius, award winning director  of The Artist



Best Supporting Actor Kenneth Branagh signing autographs


Hilary Oliver - Team Senna

Critic Hilary Oliver presenting the Best Documentary Award for Senna


The second of our January Awards

The Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards held for the first time at The Place on Monday, January 23. These are some of the winners.


Steven McRae of the Royal Ballet, winner of the Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer © John Ross


McRae in Manon

Steven McRae in Manon. © Johan Persson



Sophie Martin of Scottish Ballet, winner of the Outstanding Female Performance (Classical) Award. © John Ross


Jeanne Martin

Sophie Martin in Kenneth MacMillan’s Song of the Earth. © Andrew Ross


Klimentova and Watts

Daria Klimentova of the English National Ballet winner of the Grishko Award for Best Female Dancer given in memory of Richard Sherrington with Dance section chairman, Graham Watts © John Ross


Kenneth Tharp

Kenneth Tharp. Chief Executive of The Place, who was Master of Ceremonies for the second year running. © John Ross


Gary Avis and Sarah Lamb

Gary Avis, winner of the Outstanding Male Performance (Classical) with Sarah Lamb in Polyphonia.© Johan Persson


The winners

The winners of the awards © John Ross


Theatre Awards

The Third of our January Awards they were held at the Prince of Wales Theatre.

Eddy Redmayne as Richard 11

Eddie Redmayne as Richard II. © Johan Persson


Shenton and Pins

Drama section chairman Mark Shenton with Anthony Pins from sponsors Nyman Libson Paul. © Critics’ Circle


Richard Bean

Richard Bean, winner of Best New Play for One Man, Two Guvnors © Catherine Ashmore


London Road cast

The cast of London Road winner of the Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical © Vicki Peter



Best actor winner Benedict Cumberbatch as the Creature.