Lillian Hochhauser receiving the awards for the Bolshoi. © John Ross

The Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards took place at Sadler’s Wells, London today, 24th January. Patron of the Awards, Dame Beryl Grey says: “I am delighted that the awards are now entering their second decade and have established an important, permanent and valuable place in the annual dance calendar. They set out to celebrate the richness and variety of dance work presented on stage each year, nurturing innovation and acknowledging excellence. I offer my congratulations to all those dancers and choreographers and companies who have been nominated for awards and now especially to the winners. Your creative energies and remarkable achievements have been justly recognized. Well done.”

2010 Critics’ Circle National Dance Awards Winners

De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement

Jann Parry
Alistair Spalding

Alistair Spalding winner at the 2010 Dance Awards

Alistair Spalding © John Ross

Outstanding Female Performance (Classical)

Martha Leebolt / Northern Ballet

Outstanding Male Performance (Modern)

Daniel Proietto / Russell Maliphant Company

Daniel Proietto, Russell Maliphant Company, Outstanding Male performance (Modern) Winner, 2010 National Dance Awards

Daniel Proietto/Russell Maliphant Company. © John Ross

Best Foreign Dance Company

The Bolshoi Ballet

Best Classical Choreography

Liam Scarlett for Asphodel Meadows by the Royal Ballet

Outstanding Female Performance (Modern)

Pieter Symonds / Rambert Dance Company

Outstanding Male Performance (Classical)

Vadim Muntagirov / English National Ballet

Best Modern Choreography

Russell Maliphant for Afterlight in The Spirit of Diaghilev programme at Sadler’s Wells

Russell Maliphant - Best Modern Choreography winner 2010 Dance Awards

Russell Maliphant – Best Modern Choreography. © John Ross

Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award

Gill Clarke MBE / Dance Artist

Best Female Dancer

Natalia Osipova / Bolshoi Ballet

Outstanding Company

Rambert Dance Company

The Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer

Ivan Vasiliev / Bolshoi Ballet

2010 Awards - Critics Jeffery Taylor and Mike Dixon, past chairman of the Awards Committee, with supporter Yvonne Sherrington.

Critics Jeffery Taylor and Mike Dixon, past chairman of the Awards Committee, with supporter Yvonne Sherrington. © John Ross

The Awards celebrate the vigour and variety of Britain’s thriving dance culture and highlight the huge range of dance on offer. They are the only professional awards in the UK dedicated to dance and are presented by the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle, which brings together more than 50 dance writers. As part of the awards’ unique partnership with Sadler’s Wells and the Royal Opera House, the ceremony alternates between the two venues.

The awards sponsors are: The Monument TrustDancing Times; and Dance UK in association with Gordon and Co for the Jane Attenborough Dance UK Industry Award.

To read about past Awards please visit: