Gary Oldman with the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film

The Critics’ Circle Film Section held its annual awards on Sunday night at the May Fair Hotel, with sponsorship by The May Fair, Beluga, Novikov, Cameo, Audi, Innerplace and Publicity Media. The big winner at the ceremony was 12 Years a Slave, which picked up awards for Film of the Year, Actor Chiwetel Ejiofor and Supporting Actress Lupita Nyong’o. Steve McQueen was on hand to collect the awards. The Selfish Giant won two awards – British Film and Young British Performer for Conner Chapman – giving filmmakers Clio Barnard and Tracy O’Riordan and actors Chapman, Shaun Thomas and Lorraine Ashbourne a chance to celebrate on stage.

Barkhad Abdi delighted the crowd accepting the Supporting Actor award, while Jon S Baird took to the stage twice, first to collect the Breakthrough British Filmmaker for Filth and then as a stand-in for British Actor James McEvoy. Steve Coogan accepted Judi Dench’s award for British Actress. And Andy Serkis read out a hilarious thank you from Cate Blanchett, who won Actress. Other winners present included Andre Singer, producer of Documentary of the Year The Act of Killing, and Tim Webber, winner of the Technical Achievement Award for Gravity‘s visual effects. There was also an appearance by Ulysses the cat to accept Joel & Ethan Coen’s Screenwriter award.

The highlight of the evening was the presentation of the Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film to Gary Oldman. John Hurt was on hand to deliver a heartfelt introduction, and Oldman had the crowd in the palm of his hand with a beautiful thank you speech.

The ceremony opened on a note of solemnity with the announcement of Philip Seymour Hoffman’s death, which was confirmed just as the event was starting. Hoffman won Supporting Actor at last year’s CC Film Awards for his role in The Master.

Full list of winners:

Film of the Year 

12 Years a Slave

Foreign-language Film of the Year

Blue Is the Warmest Colour

Documentary of the Year

The Act of Killing

British Film of the Year

The Selfish Giant

Director of the Year

Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity

Screenwriter of the Year

Ethan Coen & Joel Coen – Inside Llewyn Davis

Actor of the Year

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave

Actress of the Year

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine

Supporting Actor of the Year

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips

Supporting Actress of the Year

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave

British Actor of the Year

James McAvoy – Filth / Trance / Welcome to the Punch

British Actress of the Year

Judi Dench – Philomena

Young British Performer of the Year

Conner Chapman – The Selfish Giant

Breakthrough British Filmmaker

Jon S Baird – Filth

Technical Achievement Award

Gravity – Tim Webber, special effects

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Film

Gary Oldman



12 Years a Slave (eOne) – Film, Actor, Supporting Actress


Gravity (Warners) – Director, Technical Achievement

Filth (Lionsgate) – British Actor, Breakthrough British Filmmaker

The Selfish Giant (Artificial Eye) – British Film, Young Performer


The Act of Killing (Dogwoof) – Documentary

Blue Is the Warmest Colour  (Artificial Eye) – Foreign Film

Blue Jasmine (Warners) – Actress

Captain Phillips (Sony) – Supporting Actor

Inside Llewyn Davis (StudioCanal) – Screenwriter

Philomena (Pathé) – British Actress

Trance (Pathé) – British Actor

Welcome to the Punch (Momentum) – British Actor