The UK Critics’ Circle Film Section is proud to announce seven new members for 2020. Film Section Chair Anna Smith says, “We are thrilled to welcome these new members, I’m sure they will be a great asset to the Circle.” They are:

Hannah FlintHanna Flint has been working as a critic and journalist for over eight years, covering film and TV with a particular interest in representation and diversity. Her bylines can be found at Variety, Empire, Sight & Sound, GQ, Elle US, BBC Culture, Sunday Times Culture and various other outlets at home and abroad. As a broadcaster she has appeared on BBC Front Row, Sky News, ITN and BBC Radio 4. She is the co-chair of Time’s Up UK Critics’ Committee and the co-founder of The First Film Club, an event series celebrating the debuts of emerging and established filmmakers.

Ella KempElla Kemp is a critic and editor based in London. She edits for The Quietus and Girls on Tops, and writes regularly for Empire, NME, Letterboxd, Little White Lies and more.

Michael LeaderMichael Leader is a writer, broadcaster and commissioning editor living in London. By day, he commissions the BBC Arts short-form film essay strands, Inside Cinema and Inside Games. As a freelance critic, he has written for Sight & Sound and Little White Lies, and hosts the podcasts Ghibliotheque and Truth & Movies.

James LuxfordJames Luxford is a film journalist and broadcaster. Beginning their career in 2007, James has written about film for a variety of outlets including The Guardian, Radio Times, The Hollywood Reporter, and Empire. They also appear regularly on BBC Radio and Television. Currently, James is Global Film and TV Editor for American Express Essentials, as well as film critic for City AM and Metro UK.

Linda MarricLinda Marric is a freelance film critic and broadcaster. She writes regularly for The Jewish Chronicle, The Daily Mirror and the NME. Graduating with a degree in film studies from King’s College London, she has written extensively about film and TV over the last decade. She has a huge passion for intelligent sci-fi movies and is never put off by the prospect of a romantic comedy.

Caitlin QuinlanCaitlin Quinlan is a writer and programmer from London who co-runs award-winning collective the Bechdel Test Fest. She writes for Little White Lies, Sight & Sound, and Garage magazine, among others.

Katie Smith WongKatie Smith-Wong is the Reviews Editor for Flickfeast. She has also written for Den of Geek, VODzilla, HeyUGuys and Film Stories.

The Critics’ Circle is committed to diversity in its membership, and to addressing the historic imbalance in critical voices. A newly established Film Section diversity committee is currently working to address issues relating to underrepresented groups.

In addition to the seven new members, the Film Section membership is as follows: Mark Adams, Kaleem Aftab, David Aldridge, Carol Allen, Paul Anderson, Geoff Andrew, Nigel Andrews, Stephen Applebaum, Erika Balsom, Nicholas Barber, Henry Barnes, Nikki Baughan, Ray Bennett, Phillip Bergson, Joanna Berry, Jason Best, Anne Billson, Anton Bitel, Matthew Bond, Laurence Boyce, Peter Bradshaw, Catherine Bray, Geoff Brown, Dave Calhoun, James Cameron-Wilson, Nina Caplan, Peter Cargin, Ali Catterall, James Christopher, Cath Clarke, Jeremy Clarke, Roger Clarke, Nigel Cliff, Rich Cline, Robbie Collin, Richard Coombs, Quentin Cooper, Jonathan Crocker, Jane Crowther, Stephen Dalton, Michael Darvell, Hugo Davenport, Tom Dawson, Phil de Semlyen, Nicholas DeJongh, Rita di Santo, Emma Dibdin, Rob Driscoll, James Dyer, Tony Earnshaw, David Edwards, Angie Errigo, Leslie Felperin, Henry Fitzherbert, Nigel Floyd, Sloan Freer, Mariella Frostrup, Paul Gambaccini, Charles Gant, Ryan Gilbey, Matt Glasby, Jamie Graham, Carmen Gray, Marianne Gray, David Gritten, Finn Halligan, Wally Hammond, Simran Hans, Tom Huddleston, David Hughes, Allan Hunter, Pamela Hutchinson, Wendy Ide, Larushka Ivan-Zadeh, Nick James, David Jenkins, Sheila Johnston, Trevor Johnston, Dan Jolin, Alan Jones, Marshall Julius, Adam Keen, Harlan Kennedy, Mark Kermode, George Kiritopoulos, Karen Krizanovich, Will Lawrence, Ed Lawrenson, Andy Lea, Matthew Leyland, Wendy Lloyd, Guy Lodge, Charlie Lyne, Geoffrey Macnab, Kevin Maher, Derek Malcolm, Demetrios Matheou, Mike McCahill, Jenny McCarthy, Pauline McLeod, Sophie Monks Kaufman, James Mottram, Richard Mowe, Matt Mueller, Kate Muir, Christina Newland, Kim Newman, Emma Norman, Neil Norman, Helen O’Hara, Charlottte O’Sullivan, Elsa O’Toole, Hilary Oliver, Ashanti Omkar, Andrew Osmond, David Parkinson, Phil Penfold, George Perry, Julian Petley, Laurence Phelan, Dee Pilgrim, Andrew Pulver, David Quinlan, Tim Robey, David Robinson, Jonathan Romney, Simon Rose, Deborah Ross, Mohammed Rouda, William Russell, Sukhdev Sandhu, George Savvides, Catherine Shoard, Brian Sibley, Emma Simmonds, Leigh Singer, Adam Smith, Anna Smith, Neil Smith, Jason Solomons, Kate Stables, Francesca Steele, Mansel Stimpson, Francine Stock, Matthew Sweet, Robert Tanitch, Matthew Turner, Brian Viner, Ben Walters, Amon Warmann, Ivan Waterman, Beth Webb, Rob White, Derek Winnert, Damon Wise, Hannah Woodhead, Adam Woodward, Neil Young.