Chair: Rich Cline
Vice Chair: Jane Crowther
Secretary: Karen Krizanovich

The 42nd Critics’ Circle Film Awards were presented on 6th February, and can be watched at the Film Section’s YouTube channel.

New members are considered for the film section each year from January to May. For information, visit the Membership Information page.

The Critics’ Code: A Pledge for Pay

For information or queries about the film section, email:

News & Reviews

X Marks the Spot in Xixón

Neil Young reports from the Gijón International Film Festival in Spain Gijón is a city of cinema, haunted by the ghosts of cinemas past. In 1963, when it first hosted the event now known as the Festival Internacional de Cine de Gijón (FICX for short)—for two decades a...

read more

Film Section welcomes new members

The UK Critics’ Circle Film Section is thrilled to announce four new members for 2019/20. Film Section Chair Anna Smith calls them “accomplished professional critics”. They are: James Dyer is the Digital Editor-in-Chief of Empire magazine and the Deputy Editor of...

read more

Film-Festival, Italian Style

Concorto Comes of Age The biggest, industry-oriented of the world's film-festivals are often described as having a "hothouse" atmosphere—how ironic, then, that one of the most casual, laid-back and non-materialistic celebrations of cinematic art, northern Italy's...

read more