On the anniversary of the last iteration of the National Dance Awards (held at the Barbican on 19th February 2020), the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle is pleased to announce that the 21st edition of the National Dance Awards will go ahead later this year – #NDA21

It will be a virtual event streamed online on Sunday, 27 June 2021.

In view of the impact of the pandemic, the period of eligibility for the awards has been extended from 1 September 2019 to 31 December 2020 (in previous years the period of eligibility has ended on 31 August).

Four new awards are being introduced to cover dance on digital media during the pandemic:

  • Best Company Response to the Pandemic
  • Best Digital Dance Choreography
  • Best Digital Dance Film
  • Best Short Digital Dance Film (under 5 minutes)

Each of the existing awards (as below) will again be included in 2021:

  • De Valois Award for Outstanding Achievement
  • Stef Stefanou Award for Outstanding Company
  • Dancing Times Award for Best Male Dancer
  • Tendu Award for Best Female Dancer
  • Best Independent Company
  • Best Classical Choreography
  • Harlequin Floors Award for Best Modern Choreography
  • Emerging Artist Award
  • Outstanding Female Classical Performance
  • Outstanding Male Classical Performance
  • Outstanding Female Modern Performance
  • Outstanding Male Modern Performance
  • Outstanding Creative Contribution  

Nominations for the awards are made by members of the Dance Section of the Critics’ Circle.

A key difference for 2021 is that nominations for the performance awards can be made for dancers appearing live on stage or on film.

The National Dance Awards is delighted to confirm that a number of sponsors have agreed to continue to support the awards for 2021 including the Critics’ Circle, Dancing Times, Dansez, Harlequin Floors, Lee McLernon, Marquee TV, Stef Stefanou, Tendu, The Ballet Association and The L&M Trust. Without their continued support the awards would not be possible.

There are still sponsorship opportunities for the 2021 National Dance Awards and any interested parties are invited to contact the Chair at graham@g-watts.com

For further information contact:

Graham Watts OBE  – Chairman +44 (0) 7710 057252 graham@g-watts.com

Fabiana Jaramillo – Executive Secretary +44 (0) 7886 344037   fabiana.jaramillo@gmail.com 

twitter: @NatDanceAwards

Instagram: @national_dance_awards

Facebook: National Dance Awards

2019 winners on stage – photo by Foteini Christofilopoulou